The Wanderers Stadium – Johannesburg

April 18th, 2009

Location Johannesburg
Established 1956
Seating capacity 34,000
Home team(s) Gauteng, Transvaal
End names Corlett Drive End, Golf Course End

Wanderers Stadium is a stadium situated just south of Sandton in Illovo, Johannesburg in Gauteng Province, South Africa. Test, One Day and First class cricket matches are played here. It is also the home ground for the Highveld Lions, formerly known as Gauteng

The stadium has a seating capacity of 34,000, and was built in 1956 to replace the Old Wanderers Stadium. It was completely overhauled following South Africa\’s readmission to international cricket in 1991. In 1996, five new 65 metre high floodlight masts replaced the existing four 30 metre high masts enabling day-night limited-overs cricket. It is nicknamed The Bullring due to its design and intimidating atmosphere.

The Cricket World Cup 2003 final was held at the Wanderers Stadium. This stadium also hosted one of the greatest One-day international matches. The match was played between South Africa and Australia in which a world record score of 434 was chased down by South Africa. In 2007 it then hosted matches of the first T20 Worldcup. It included the first match and the finals which was won by India beating Pakistan

  1. maManish Rajan

    Deccan Chargers have won the ipl world cup

  2. Lebogang

    I hope it continue in future with its creative works

  3. my favourtie team is D.D. but I thing IPL winner will be RCB…
    because Kumble deserve this trophy

  4. killer

    chennai ok but y preethi is overacting 2much while punjab was getting the wicket that was bullshit,,,,,,,,,,any how chennai wins

  5. saurav

    my favourite teams are kings 11 punjab,chennai superkings,rajasthan royals and delhi daredevils and i am sure any team of this can win IPL2

  6. Bhalchandra jadhav

    My favorite team is mumbai indians. And m sure they will win it.

  7. infas

    hi iplt20

  8. Preeti Bisht

    My fevourite team is DelhiDaredavils & m also supporing . And it will be winner of IPL

  9. satya


Leave a Reply

Note:Your email address will never be published.