Mumbai Indians make it two out of two at the Kotla as the Daredevils are destroyed at home

March 18th, 2010

17th March 2010: It was carnage for the home side at the Ferozeshah Kotla, Delhi as Mumbai Indians registered a commanding 98 run victory over the Delhi Daredevils.

The toss was won by Delhi Daredevils who put Mumbai Indians in to bat first.

Mumbai Indians started the match with a stronger line-up with West Indians Dwayne Bravo and Keiron Pollard included in the side and Harbhajan Singh fit to play. Delhi Daredevils started Minus their skipper Gautam Gambhir, who didn’t take the field to nurse an injured hamstring.

Veteran openers Sachin and Jayasuriya started off very well scoring 38. Substitute Yogesh Nagar, on for injured Gautam Gambhir, took a brilliant catch leaping backwards to dismiss Sanath Jayasuriya.

Sangwan knocked back Aditya Tare’s Middle stump straight after the Strategic Timeout.

Meanwhile, Sachin put up a display of exquisite batting, cutting, slashing and hitting the bowlers and finding gaps at will. He was dimissed at a score of 62 runs off 32 balls which consisted of 11 boundaries by Amit Mishra thanks to a brilliant catch, again by substitute Nagar.

Ambati Rayudu and Saurabh Tiwary then teamed up to take the MI score to 193. They were dismissed in the 17th and 18th overs respectively with Tiwary making 61 runs off 37 balls.

Pollard, who was welcomed to the crease with a beamer by Dirk Nannes that almost knocked off his head, and Dwayne Bravo then struck some neat blows in the last two overs and Mumbai Indians ended their innings at a potentially match winning score of 218/7.

Dirk Nannes again ended with the best figures for the Daredevils and was the only bowler to have a single digit economy rate.

Dilshan started Delhi Daredevil’s innings with a boundary off Zaheer Khan’s first ball. He along with Virender Sehwag got the Daredevils off to a flyer before being bowled by Sri Lankan team-mate Lasith Malinga off a slower ball.

Dwayne Bravo then struck twice in the sixth over to pick up the crucial wickets of Virender Sehwag (26 from 16 balls) and AB De Villiers.

MI keeper Aditya Tare then stumped his Daredevils counterpart Dinesh Karthik for 16 off 6 balls off fit-again Harbhajan Singh’s bowling. Mithun Manhas holed out to R Sathish off Jayasuriya’s bowling in the very first ball after the strategic time out as the Daredevils sunk deeper into trouble at 80/5 in the tenth over.

Maharoof was soon dismissed by Jayasuriya, in what was the second wicket of a Sri Lankan by a Sri Lankan, thanks to the second stumping of the evening by Aditya Tare.

Wickets were falling in a hurry now as Pollard bowled Amit Mishra in the last ball of the 12th over Bravo effected a brilliant run out of Sangwan via an underarm direct hit in the very next over and the Daredevils slumped to 117/8 at the end of the 14th over.

Bhajji wrapped up the match by dismissing Dirk Nannes and Daredevils’ innings was wrapped up at 120/9, with Gautam Gambhir not having batted due to his injury. Mumbai Indians comprehensively won the match by 98 runs.

Mumbai Indians now rest comfortably at the top of the table with 4 points and a Net Run Rate of +2.55 and they are the side to beat at the moment. The question is, can they carry this form through to the end of the IPL? Only time will tell.

Score Card :IPL 2010 Match 9 Mar 17 Delhi Daredevils vs Mumbai Indians – IPL Mumbai won

Kshitij  Mehta Kshitij Mehta


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note:Your email address will never be published.