Players brave Millions of Moths at Motera as Delhi Daredevils clinch the rubber

March 16th, 2010

The toss was won by Delhi Daredevils skipper Gautam Gambhir who put Rajasthan Royals in to bat first.

The Royals started off brilliantly scoring 14 runs off the first over by Maharoof. Nannes struck in the second over to get Swapnil Asnodkar.

Naman Ojha made a quickfire 24 off 14 balls. He hit Amit Mishra for two 4′s and a 6 in the iofth over before the leggie bowled him with a brilliant googly.

Yusuf Pathan, centurion of the previous match albeit for a losing cause, was dismissed for a duck by Maharoof.

Graeme Smith was out two overs later having scored just 18 runs.

Jhujhunwala then joined Dogra and they put up 64 runs before Dogra was run out after having made 29 off 26 balls.

Jhunjhunwala was unbeaten till the end and he made 53 runs of 45 deliveries, and was the top scorer for the Royals.

Delhi Daredevils got off to a flyer with Sehwag and Gambhir adding 42 runs from 3.2 overs before Gambhir was dismissed by Mascarenhas.

Dilshan followed the very next delivery thanks to a brilliant caught behind by Rajasthan Royals Keeper Naman Ojha who was standing up to the stumps.

Sehwag meanwhile didn’t provide any respite to the Rajasthan bowlers and belted them for 75 runs off 34 balls. He was dropped by Shaun Tait on 41 runs off the bowling of Mascarenhas.

Sehwag was dismissed by Munaf Patel, with Smith taking a magnificent catch running backwards. But by then Delhi were looking poised to win the match comfortably requiring 43 runs of 60 balls. AB De Villiers was soon dismissed by Shane Warne, which turned out to be the last wicket lost by the Daredevils. They were driven home comfortably by Dinesh Karthik and Mithun Manhas by 6 wickets and 17 balls to spare.

It was getting really difficult at times for the players to play among all the insects that swarmed the stadium. The umpires too were having a tough time on the field. But everyone showed great professionalism and the game wasn’t interrupted.

Sehwag was awarded the Man of the Match for his blistering knock.

And so at the moment it is Two in Two games for both, the Delhi Daredevils and Rajasthan Royals, wins for the former and losses for the latter.

Score Card : IPL 2010 Match 6 Mar 15 Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Daredevils – IPL Delhi won by 6 wickets

Kshitij  Mehta Kshitij Mehta


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note:Your email address will never be published.